Destiny Wrath of the Machine Hard mode

It feels like five minutes since Destiny’s second expansion launched, but it’s already time for Wrath of the Machine Hard mode to make its debut.

As the name suggests, the harder difficulty (known in-game as Heroic) is a set up above regular Raid playthroughs – introducing tougher enemies, no revives alongside new mechanics to be aware of. You do, however, earn better (and exclusive!) loot and a dedicated achievement to earn for your efforts. Good luck Guardians!

Wrath of the Machine Hard mode differences – what’s new in the Heroic Raid?

There are four differences in Wrath of the Machine Hard mode:

  • Higher Light level enemies (Light level recommended 380, up from 370 from Normal)
  • No revives during boss encounters
  • Extra mechanics during boss encounters (see below in more detail)
  • Higher level and different loot, extra SIVA Key loot chests (also see below for more info)

As well as requiring higher Light levels and ensuring each team member survives for (most of) the encounter, each stage also has additional mechanics to be aware of.

We’d recommend playing the regular Raid in full (see our Wrath of the Machine guide and walkthrough) to get a handle of the basics, since the following are simply elaborations of what you’ve encountered so far.

Wrath of the Machine Hard mode new mechanics:

  • Vosik second encounter: 6 bombs to be thrown (one per player at the same time) instead of just three; large monitors in centre added; clean rooms have half closed doors that must be slid through
  • Siege Engine: Walker spawns on the way back from carrying engine parts, and must be disabled before progressing (Celestial Nighthawk comes in handy here!)
  • Aksis first encounter: Three turrets appear – one on each side – and respawn regularly
  • Aksis second encounter: Nine Servitors spawn instead of three for nine bombs total in the bomb throwing phase, similar to the final part of the Aksis first encounter

If you want to see some of the top streamers tackle the Raid in the hour after release, here’s a full playthrough:

There are changes to loot in Hard mode too. First, there is a second loot chest at the end of an encounter that can be opened with a SIVA Cache Key; remember to double check the chest type (the on-screen prompt will say Heroic).

As with normal mode, 3 SIVA Key Fragments will drop from the first time you defeat each boss that week. Playing again will give you two, then one on the third attempt, and nothing after that until the Tuesday server reset.

Second, the Wrath of the Machine loot table will offer different drops, including the Pulse Rifle, Hand Cannon, Sniper Rifle, Sidearm and Machine Gun

Want more Destiny: Rise of Iron guides, tips and tricks? Then read our Wrath of the Machine walkthrough and guides, complete list of all Dormant SIVA Cluster locations, tips on how to reach Destiny’s max Light level, how to complete the Exotic Gjallarhorn Quest, Khvostov 7G-OX Quest and Thorn Quest and new modes Vanguard Elite Strike Scoring and SRL.

Source link

About Game News Today

I'm a true gamer. I'm not a pro gamer but ill never stop playing games. My choice of console is PlayStation, but each to their own. I unfortunately do not get as much time as i would like to still play games, but when i do, i love it!

Check Also

Fancy View, Rainbow Rentals and Lockie’s Lighthouse locations explained •

Where to find these three landmarks in Fortnite Season 6.  Visiting Fancy View, Rainbow Rentals …